Tandy - COCA - West African Dance

The City of St. Louis Recreation in partnership with...


is pleased to offer...West African Dance.

Students will learn about the cultures of the Africa and the principals of dance such as musicality and flexibility through transitional West African Dance. Class will be accompanied by live drumming.

This class is led by Mr. Diadie Bathily.


Diadie grew up in Ivory Coast, West Africa in Abidjan and in Bouake, Ivory Coast. Diadie has performed at the United Nations, with Village Arts and Humanities in Philadelphia, at S.I.U.-Carbondale, and in Albuquerque, New Mexico. He has taught master classes at Temple University and at the Katherine Dunham School, and he performed at Miss Dunham’s 90th birthday celebration.

This is a free program and space is limited!

For additional information about COCA, please visit their website at...www.cocastl.org

Note:



Program Type Performing & Creative Arts
Program Subcategory Dance
Program Code Tandy
Online Registration Yes
Enrollment Begin Date 1/1/2020
Enrollment End Date 1/31/2020
Instructor(s)
Diadie Bathily
Gender Any Gender
Enrollment Minimum 5
Maximum 20
Grade Minimium 3
Maximum 12
Age Minimum 8
Maximum 18
Individual / Free
Residency Restriction -None-
Membership Restrictions -
Amount $0.00
Tuesday - 01/21/2020
Start Time 5:30 PM
End Time 6:30 PM
Location Tandy Recreation Center
Tuesday - 01/28/2020
Start Time 5:30 PM
End Time 6:30 PM
Location Tandy Recreation Center
Tuesday - 02/04/2020
Start Time 5:30 PM
End Time 6:30 PM
Location Tandy Recreation Center
Tuesday - 02/11/2020
Start Time 5:30 PM
End Time 6:30 PM
Location Tandy Recreation Center
Tuesday - 02/18/2020
Start Time 5:30 PM
End Time 6:30 PM
Location Tandy Recreation Center
Tuesday - 02/25/2020
Start Time 5:30 PM
End Time 6:30 PM
Location Tandy Recreation Center
Tuesday - 03/03/2020
Start Time 5:30 PM
End Time 6:30 PM
Location Tandy Recreation Center
Tuesday - 03/10/2020
Start Time 5:30 PM
End Time 6:30 PM
Location Tandy Recreation Center
Tuesday - 03/24/2020
Start Time 5:30 PM
End Time 6:30 PM
Location Tandy Recreation Center
Tuesday - 03/31/2020
Start Time 5:30 PM
End Time 6:30 PM
Location Tandy Recreation Center
Tuesday - 04/07/2020
Start Time 5:30 PM
End Time 6:30 PM
Location Tandy Recreation Center
Tuesday - 04/14/2020
Start Time 5:30 PM
End Time 6:30 PM
Location Tandy Recreation Center